Proof that one voice really can make a difference . . .

I woke up this morning to find workers cutting down the trees in the yard behind my apartment. When I talked to the workers, I learned that they had been asked to remove all the trees in order to “save” the pavement in a nearby parking lot, which was starting to buckle under the trees’ root systems.

This is, to my mind, a major misplacement of priorities. Something is very wrong when people value paved surfaces like parking lots over living, breathing trees — trees that mark the seasons with their budding and falling leaves; trees that provide hang-outs for birds; trees that offer a tiny shred of natural beauty and a few pearls of peace in our “go-go-go” urban concrete environment.

I wrote a letter to the apartment board, expressing my dismay in their decision to cut down the trees. I described the value the trees brought to me and the neighbourhood by their very presence. I didn’t think my letter would do any good — the trees were being cut down as I typed the words and pressed send.

A few hours later, I received a call from my landlord. He said that the apartment board had taken my letter to heart and were going to stop cutting the trees down.

So half the trees in my back yard will live.

All because one person (me) wrote one letter defending something they believed in, and one group of people (the apartment board) was open enough to listen (and for that, I want to thank them).

Heartening proof that one voice really can make a difference. . . . 🌱

One Comment to “Proof that one voice really can make a difference . . .”

  1. Good to put your thoughts so quickly into action. Well done!!

Leave a Reply

