Exit anger, enter love

Thought of the moment, courtesy of author Barbara De Angelis:

The more anger towards the past you carry in your heart, the less capable you are of loving in the present.

I do think that some of the events in my past have led me to direct anger towards people or situations that I see as the “cause” of something bad or undesirable in my life. Often it’s a subconscious reaction, one that I’m not aware of (or aware of the depth of) until years later. I know that these events and people don’t actually “cause” my negative reaction; how I choose to react to any situation is completely up to me — but tell that to my heart in the moment!!

The anger is there, I know it’s there, and I’m trying to work my way through it, to move towards a place of acceptance, forgiveness, freedom. And, yes, the ability to love and truly live in the present once again.

Awareness, I’ve always said, is the first step towards change.

Peace.

Leave a Reply

