Let go of “right” or “wrong” and go with your gut

Artist and author Toni Carmine Salerno writes:

Ultimately there are no right or wrong decisions, only different experiences.

These words take some pressure off those of us who tend to worry about whether we’re making the “right” choice about how to proceed in whatever life circumstances we’re facing.

Ultimately, every choice you make is the right one, because every experience you encounter holds value. The key, I think, is to let your intuition be your guide: if your intuition (a.k.a. gut instinct, subconscious mind, higher self, etc.) keeps poking you to do a certain thing or move in a certain direction, listen! Do that thing your intuition urges, even if the idea seems crazy or risky to your rational mind and/or the people around you.

The heart holds much truth. In the last few years, I have discovered that listening to my heart’s urgings (no matter how ridiculous or frightening they may at first seem) actually brings resolution to some of the fractious or troublesome pieces of my life. Acting on these urges isn’t always easy, and the outcome may not always be what I’d hoped for, but the process enables me to either embrace something new or let go of something old (often something that’s been dogging me for a long time). I loose my mind of the anxiety associated with “should I / shouldn’t I / what if?” and I’m able to move forward lighter, freer, contented — and proud of myself for taking control of my life. A very empowering and totally worthwhile experience. 🙂

One Comment to “Let go of “right” or “wrong” and go with your gut”

Leave a Reply

